Migne names final squad for AFCON

Migne names final squad for AFCON

By Samuel Ouma | @journalist_27

Harambee Stars head coach Sebastian Migne has named a 23-man squad that will represent Kenya in this year’s African Cup of Nations.

Portugal based winger Clinton Miheso, Zesco United midfielder Anthony Akumu, Sweden based attacker Chris Mbamba and South African based center back Brian Mandela are the four players who have been axed from the 27 players who traveled to France end last month for a three week training session.

The Frenchman was forced to drop Brian Mandela after he picked a knee injury on Monday during a training session. He was the most experienced player in the team, having plied his trade in South Africa for the past seven years.

Anthony Akumu’s surprise omission has not gone well with fans; however, the technician said he considered his services as surplus.

Stars scored on the spot to cruise past Madagascar in a warm up tie played at Stade Robert Boban in Paris on Friday, June 8.

They play Democratic Republic of Congo in their last build up match on Saturday before jetting out to Egypt on June 19.

Final Afcon Squad


Patrick Matasi, John Oyembo, Faruk Shikalo


Philemon Otieno, Abud Omar, Bernard Ochieng, Musa Mohammed, Joash Onyango, Joseph Okumu, David Owino, Eric Ouma


Victor Wanyama, Dennis Odhiambo, Erick Johanna, Ayub Timbe, Francis, Kahata, Ismael Gonzalez, Ovella Ochieng, Paul Were, Johanna Omollo.


Michael Olunga, John Avire, Masud Juma




Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *