Nigeria: PDP lawmakers dump party for APC ahead of March 9 election

By Teslim Olawore


Some serving councillors in Kwara state under the umbrella of People’s Democratic Party (PDP), have defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC) ahead of the Governorship and State Assembly polls coming up on the 9th of March. As President Muhammadu Buhari begins to prepare for his second tenure as a result of his triumph at the concluded federal elections, Nigerians have started to set agenda for him, listing the economy as one of the key area.

The defectors, who came from five local government areas out of the 16 in the state, said they defected to the APC in the interest of Nigeria and the interest of the state. Newsmen recall that they were elected on the platform of PDP in November 2017.

Hon Suleiman Taoheed representing Ajanaku Ward in Moro Local Government Area, who spoke on behalf of the defectors said that the current PDP administration in Kwara state had failed.

“We are tired of lies and poor performance of the incumbent administration in the state and as a result, we cannot be left behind in building better and brighter Kwara.

He said, “Everybody is complaining about the political hegemony in Kwara because the system has not brought positive changes to the people of the state”

He said that the defectors will mobilise electorate in their respective wards and vote en masse for all APC candidates on Saturday.

The defectors gave their words to support AbdulRahman Abdulrasaq, the APC governorship candidate, stating that he had good plans for the state considering his antecedents.

They are also adamant that more serving councillors would join APC before Saturday.

Dr. Alimi Abdulrasaq, an APC stalwart and brother to the governorship flag bearer, who received the defectors said that they would not regret their decision.

Abdulrasaq said that his brother, when elected would ensure that local governments have full autonomy, and draw government closer to the people at the grassroots.

He urged them to mobilise electorate to vote Abdulrahman Abdulrasaq and all APC state assembly candidates in the elections.




Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *